Jonathan Drops Bolaji Abdullahi, Swears in 11 New Ministers

Barely 24 hours after a sweeping sack in the aviation sector, President Goodluck Jonathan Wednesday dropped the Minister of Sports and Youth Development, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi from his cabinet. This is just as 11 new ministers were sworn in by the president. Though Abdullahi was absent at the swearing in ceremony, Jonathan nonetheless announced his replacement. Dr Tamuno Danagogo from Rivers State, replaced Bolaji Abdullahi as Sports Minister.

Senator Muhammadu Musiliu Obanikoro (Lagos), is the new Minister of State Defence. Mohammed Wakil (Borno), Minister of State for Power, Alhaji Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Minister of Police Affairs, and Ambassador Aminu Wali (Kano), Minister of Foreign Affairs. Also, Mrs Akon Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom), is the new Minister of Land and Housing, Lawrencia Laraba Mallam (Kaduna State), Minister of Environment. Minister of state for Agriculture is Hajia Asabe Asmau Ahmed (Niger), Gen. Aliyu Gusau (Zamfara), Minister of Defence, Boni Haruna (Adamawa), Minister of Youth Development, while Dr Khaliru Alhassan (Sokoto State),is the new Minister of State for Health.

The President is expected to make further changes to the cabinet in the coming weeks. While swearing in the ministers, Jonathan noted that being Nigerians, “they have already known the problems projected on a daily basis by the media, which interprets that they have to ensure they excel in their areas of assignments.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s