Opposition Parties Agree on APC Interim Leadership

The opposition parties coalition Tuesday took steps to finally resolve their differences over the constitution of the leadership of the yet -to-be registered All Progressives Congress (APC). The parties were forced to settle the matter following the refusal of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to accept just the three interim officers of national chairman, secretary and treasurer they had put together as key leaders of the APC interim management committee.

After series of consultations, they have now agreed to a sharing formula, which will cede the national chairmanship position to the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), in addition to six other offices. The All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) gets the national secretary and five other slots. On its part, the Congress for Progressive Change ( CPC), the third major partner in the coalition, has been given the position of national treasurer in addition to five other positions in the new party’s national executive.

The coalition also accommodated the interests of factions of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) and the Democratic Peoples Party (DPP), which are part of the coalition by granting the duo, eight slots. Among the offices to be filled by the factional groups are the deputy national chairman, deputy organising secretary and the national youth leader.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s