PDP Crises: President asks Tukur, other National Working Committee members to resign

The crises in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came to a head Monday when the committee set up by President Goodluck Jonathan to resolve the spiralling crises in the party demanded the immediate resignation of the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) members led by the party’s National Chairman, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur. The decision was reportedly taken to “save the party from imminent collapse”. The directive to Tukur and other NWC members to step down came on the heels of the decision to lift the suspension slammed on the Sokoto State Governor, Alhaji Aliyu Wamakko, by the PDP for insubordination. Other members of the committee included the Chief of Staff to the President, Chief Mike Oghiadomhe, the President’s Special Adviser on Political Matters, Alhaji Ahmed Gulak, Governors Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta), Ibrahim Shema (Katsina), Gabriel Suswam (Benue), Isa Yuguda (Bauchi) and Theodore Orji (Abia). All members of the committee were present at their inaugural meeting last Saturday night except Suswam. Part of the recommendations that were to be made by the committee was for the resignation of the four NWC members whose election had been recognised by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

– http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/pdp-crises-president-asks-tukur-other-nwc-members-to-resign/150737/


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s