El-Rufai: Obasanjo Will Not be Happy with My Book

Former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, has acknowledged that the revelations in his controversial book, The Accidental Public Servant, would not make former President Olusegun Obasanjo happy with him over his portrayal of his former boss.

El-Rufai, who spoke in an interview to Abuja-based Metropole magazine, said he did not expect his former boss to be happy with him, “but that is okay, because I tried to be balanced with him.” In the interview, which will hit the newsstands Monday, el-Rufai added: “He (Obasanjo) is very important to me and he gave me the opportunity to be in public service. I will always be grateful to him.

“But I can’t pretend that Obasanjo as president was perfect. I argued with him as a minister, even in cabinet meetings. There were people that were surprised I survived because anytime he brought something that I believed was not in the best interest of Nigeria, I argued.”
El-rufai said as public figures, “we will continue to be scrutinised and we should understand that whatever we do will be public. “This is the age of transparency and accountability. Anything you say or do, if you don’t want it to be public you better not say it. This is the age we live in.

http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/el-rufai-obasanjo-will-not-be-happy-with-my-book/141822/

Leave a Reply

