ANA EXCO Disburses N2.4 million in Grants, Unveils New Website

1. Reading Campaign

The 2011/13 EXCO of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), led by its President, Prof. Remi Raji, over the weekend at Ilorin, the Kwara State capital, disbursed the sum of N2, 400,000 (Two million, four hundred thousand naira only) to 16 state chapters of the Association. This was done in furtherance of the N3m grant secured by ANA from Mr. Yusuf Ali, SAN for the ANA/Yusuf Ali Schools’ Literary Awareness Campaign.

Dignitaries at the occasion included retired jurist and former head of the Independent Corrupt Practices Commission, Justice Mustapha Akanbi, former ANA President Dr Wale Okediran, the sponsor of the programme, Mr. Yusuf Ali, SAN, and the SA to the Kebbi State Governor on Education, Hajiya Maimuna, herself the Chairperson of ANA Kebbi. Several members of the Association from across the country and well wishers from within Kwara State, as well secondary school and university students, attended the event which held at the African People Hall, Ilorin.

The beneficiary chapters, whose representatives were all on hand to receive their cheques of N150,000 (One hundred and fifty thousand naira only) each are:

Akwa Ibom

In order to achieve a good coordination of the project, the chapters are to carry
out the programme within the follow timeline:

June 12-14: Distribution of sets of books to ten Schools by each state chapters.
June 26-28: Reading Competition & Awards Programme at designated centres in    participating states.
July 3: Submission of Reports by Chapters.

2. Meeting

The May 26 flag-off programme in Ilorin was also used to organise the special meeting of the ANA EXCO with the Council of State Chairmen and Secretaries of ANA.  Among issues deliberated on:

The 2012 International Convention in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State

Unveiling of Website

Database of Members

States’ suggestions of amendments to the Association’s Draft Constitution

Update on ANA Land.

The theme of the 2012 Convention (October 25-28) is “Nigerian Literature, Social Media and Security” and Pius Adesanmi of Carleton University, Canada was unanimously chosen as Keynote Speaker. ANA will enlist the support and participation of all reachable Nigerian writers and scholars in this year’s Convention. Listed for special invitation are Professors Wole Soyinka, JP Clark, Biodun Jeyifo, Kole Omotoso, Niyi Osundare, Femi Osofisan, Chimalum
Nwankwo, JOJ Nwachukwu Agbada, and Zaynab Alkali among others.

3. Website

The 2011/13 EXCO invites Congress members and the general public to view its new website at The website was designed by a friend of ANA, Dr. Melita Aleksa Varga of Croatia at the nominal cost of One Euro (€)1.

ANA acknowledges the support and confidence of its patrons and prospective collaborators and partners.

R. U. Ali Esq.
(Publicity Secretary, North), Association of Nigerian Authors


One thought on “ANA EXCO Disburses N2.4 million in Grants, Unveils New Website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s