I am a dunce! Well, when it comes to the economy of Nigeria! But…

… is the fuel subsidy the only problem with our economy? Will its removal solve all the problems with the Nigerian economy?

In my naivety, I believe corruption is Nigeria’s major problem! If our leaders will implement the Public Procurement policies and provisions and then really fight corruption, will that not have more impact than the removal of the fuel subsidy?

Also, there is division on whether there is subsidy or not, but we are all united on the corruption issues! I think if Nigeria’s president makes the fight against corruption his first priority, we, the citizens of the country will even be the ones that would ask him to remove the subsidy!

My grouse with the removal of the subsidy is that it will only generate more public funds to be looted by the forces of corruption that Nigeria’s politicians and their cohorts have become!

Please somebody should educate me on how the removal of the fuel subsidy is the almighty solution to Nigeria’s ailing economy!

Or how the funds from a purposeless introduction of new vehicle number plates and new driver’s licences will be utilised for the good of the Nigerian citizens?

Or…! Kai, it is a trying time to be a Nigerian citizen if you are not a politician!

One thought on “I am a dunce! Well, when it comes to the economy of Nigeria! But…

  1. My heart bleeds for my country! What will become of my children and my children’s children?

Leave a Reply

